Haochen Zhang, Pianist


Haochen Zhang - Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5


Cliburn 2009 Haochen Zhang Final Recital


Haochen Zhang - Liszt - Piano Concerto No 1 in E-flat major


Haochen Zhang, Biography

Haochen Zhang (Chinese, born June 3, 1990) is a pianist from Shanghai, China. At age twelve, he won the 4th International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians, becoming the youngest winner in the history of the competition. He studied with Gary Graffman, who was also the teacher of Lang Lang and Yuja Wang.

Childhood and Youth of Zhang

Haochen Zhang gave his debut recital at the Shanghai Music Hall at the age of five, performing all of Bach’s two-part inventions, as well as sonatas by Haydn and Mozart. He made his orchestral debut at the age of six.
He was awarded first prize at the Shanghai Piano Competition at the age of seven and nine. Following this success, at the age of eleven, in 2001, he gave tours in all the major cities in China performing the complete Chopin Etudes op.10, Beethoven and Mozart Sonatas. In the same year, he was admitted at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and the Shenzhen Arts School, where he studied with Professor Dan Zhaoyi.
At age twelve, Haochen Zhang won the 4th International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians, becoming the youngest winner in the history of the competition. In 2004, at the age of 14, he made his debut at the 49th International Chopin Festival in Duszniki, Poland, performing the complete Chopin Etudes op.25.
In 2005, Haochen Zhang moved to the United States to attend the Curtis Institute of Music and to study under the world-renowned Gary Graffman who was the teacher of Lang Lang and Yuja Wang. The year following, he made his debut with the Philadelphia Orchestra performing Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto.
In 2008 at the age of eighteen, he made his Carnegie Hall debut with the New York Youth Symphony performing Mozart's D minor Concerto (K.466) and the world premiere of a commissioned work by Ryan Gallagher.

Adult Life

In June 2009, at the age of 19, Haochen Zhang became the youngest and the first Chinese competitor to be awarded the prestigious Nancy Lee and Perry R. Bass Gold Medal/ First Prize at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. As part of his prize package, Haochen Zhang received commission-free artist management from the Van Cliburn Foundation for three seasons following the competition. Immediately after his Gold Medal win, Haochen Zhang embarked on an extensive three-year tour across the United States and abroad.
Mr. Zhang has performed with the China National Symphony Orchestra, Krakow State Philharmonic, New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, and has concertized throughout Asia, Europe, and the United States.
When he was young, Zhang demonstrated a musical maturity which was almost unimaginable of his age. He impresses with a depth of musical understanding and subtle expressive nuance. His combination of enchanting, sensitive lyricism and hypnotizing forcefulness is a phenomenon. He also has broad interests in many other fields, including history and literature.

For Zhang's concert schedule, please visit his page:


Comment Form is loading comments...
: "